5 minute chocolate peanut butter cookies

5 minute cookies | home sweet blog

My senior year of college I lived with three other girls. When we were sitting around at night watching TV, inevitably at least one of us would say, “I’m craving something sweet.” That’s when I first discovered these cookies.

Then last week, BW and I were sitting around after dinner and I was rummaging through the pantry (my typical post-dinner ritual) in search of something to satisfy my sweet tooth and I remembered this recipe. Using items you probably already have in your pantry to can have fudgey, chocolatey, peanut buttery cookies in less than five minutes. Or if you can’t wait five minutes, you can have scalding, chocolatey lava straight from the pot. I recommend waiting.

5 minute cookies | home sweet blog

{ 5 minute chocolate peanut butter cookies }

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 3 cups oatmeal

In a saucepan bring the sugar, cocoa, butter and milk to a boil. Let boil for one minute then off the heat add peanut butter, vanilla and oats. Stir well to combine. On a sheet of parchment paper, drop mixture by the spoonful. Let sit until cool and hardened.

You could use chunky peanut butter for more texture or even try adding shredded coconut or a few tablespoons of flax seeds. The addition of flax seeds would make them healthy. Obviously.

Leave a Reply

