biggest fan

Our new house is 1,808 square feet. In that 1,808 square feet I bet you cannot guess how many ceiling fans there are…but go ahead, give it a shot.

Absolutely not. Three is not even close.

Nope. Not four. Try again.

No. Not even six.

EIGHT!

There are eight ceiling fans. That equals one in every room (including three in the dining room/living room/kitchen) plus one outside. I told BW that if we turned them all on full blast our little house just might fly away like UP! (side note: sweetest little movie of all time. It comes highly recommended from the W household. Literally…stop reading this and go watch it.)

Since I think we can easily survive with about, oh let’s see, half of these ceiling fans, I’ve been researching light fixtures to replace them. I know I want something different for the dining room, the kitchen, my office and possibly the bedroom. But don’t tell BW. He would probably be happy to live with all eight. His body temperature runs about 4 degrees warmer than the average person. (He’s prob a werewolf – and of course when I say “werewolf”what I really mean is “shape shifter/wolf”. I realize these types of silly thoughts are probably a result of working at a teen magazine the last four years. Or at the very least, because of watching shows like True Blood and Vampire Diaries.) I digress. The point is, I’m on the market for some new lighting fixtures. Here are a few that may soon be making an appearance in Kendall.

I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to have a lantern over the island in our kitchen. Where, shockingly, there is now a ceiling fan. Remember when I blogged about Sarah Richardson? Well this ah-mazing shot comes from the home of her assistant Tommy (which if you’ve never seen the show is so super cute). I love this lantern. Oh yeah, and the floors, and the cabinets, and the french doors, and everything.

{ another shot of Tommy’s cutie kitchen }

The kitchen below is probably my fave. I’m loving the contrast between the white cabinets and the butcher block. BW and I are dying to put butcher block in our kitchen. We were originally just thinking about the island, but now I think we’re both considering replacing all the countertops with butcher block. In fact, on a recent road trip to Savannah, we made a special trip to the Atlanta IKEA to check out their butcher block. BW was definitely disappointed we didn’t leave with new countertops that day. Check out how seamlessly the lantern fits in with the countertops, the open shelving, and the amazing apron front sink. I die.

I wish we had the space to accommodate two. I love these shots below with the pairs of lanterns.

I think this one from overstock.com is prettyyy darn close to a few of the ones above. The great part is that it’s less than $150. The not so great part is that it was only $103 when I pinned it a few weeks ago. What gives Overstock?

I think one of these chandeliers – both of these lovelies are also from Overstock – would look beautiful over the dining room table. Although, a chandelier may be a little too feminine for BW tastes. If I can’t convince him, a smaller scale version of one of these will definitely be going in my office. Stay tuned because I have big plans for that room!

{ here }

{ is it just me or does this look awfully close to this beauty? just sayin. }

I have a feeling these two drum shades may be a little more up BW’s alley. I can’t complain because I love them both.

{ here }

{ from here, the dark iron bands make it feel much more rustic }

What do you think? Any favorites? On another note, if you’re in the market for a ceiling fan give us a call! I know where you can find one (or eight) on the cheap.

One thought on “biggest fan

  1. Pingback: Mixed Metals | home sweet blog

Leave a comment