no butts about it

In an earlier post I mentioned our fab engagement party – full details still to come! I’m waiting for pics – but in the meantime I wanted to share the DIY hostess gifts. I really struggled with what to give our hosts to say thank you. BW and I finally decided to give everyone a good barbeque rub. I mean, who doesn’t love barbeque? BW shared his secret rub recipe and we bottled them up in jars. My friend Sam helped by offering her graphic design skills for the cute pig tags. She did a fab job of capturing exactly what I had envisioned. We added a set of tongs and tied it all together with some twine. I think they turned out pretty adorable!


So, if you decide you want to whip of your very own (which I would highly recommend!) I’m letting you in on BW’s super secret recipe!*

{ BW’s barbeque pork rub }

  • 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sweet paprika
  • 3 tablespoons black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons coarse salt
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

*In all honestly…he’d tell you it’s not really much of a secret at all. But somehow it makes it a little more exciting if you feel like you’re in on the secret.

3 thoughts on “no butts about it

      • Hi Michelle,

        They are 16 oz. glass storage jars. You can find them at The Container Store. I’m guessing World Market and craft stores probably carry them too. OR you could just use half pint Ball jars from the grocery store. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

