the great wall of china

I have to say, that being engaged is pretty great. People always talk about how stressful planning a wedding can be. I do agree that it can be a little overwhelming, but as of now I am not feeling any stress…just pure bliss. Oh, except of course when it comes to picking out a china pattern.

Since we have so many out of town guests I we decided not to register at any local gift or registry shops. So, that means registering at stores all of our guests would have access to (Macy’s, Pottery Barn, Williams Sonoma). And therefore, my our china will have to come from Macy’s. But I am having the hardest time making the final call! I was so excited to register I even did pre-registry research. I scoped out dishes, utensil, serving pieces, you name it, and when the big day came I had no problem scanning everything in sight. Didn’t even bat an eye. And still…all I could do was stare at the wall of china in confusion. BW has been so helpful and he’s great about offering his opinion. But, when it comes to china I don’t think he really has too much of opinion. I am not always the best decision maker, so I know I probably don’t make things very easy for him (thanks for being so patient with me BW! You’re the best!) Here are a few of the patterns I have my eye on…any suggestions?

{ kate spade trimble }

For some reason I keep going back to this Kate Spade pattern, but I feel like it is a little too modern for my taste.


{ vera wang wedgwood lace gold }

This pattern was my first choice initially. I love gold! I have my great grandmother’s china which is gold, so I though the pieces would mix nicely, but I’m just not really sold on the floral pattern on the plate.


{ vera wang wedgwood gilded weave }

{ lenox pearl platinum }

This might be a little too simple for my taste…but I think BW really liked it. It is a little more masculine. And the little “pearls” are raised. I really don’t think the picture does it justice.

What do you think? What’s your favorite?

UPDATE: The Vera Wang Wedgwood Gilded Weave, it is! There is officially only one china pattern on our registry.

2 thoughts on “the great wall of china

  1. Love all of them, but I understand your dilemma. I love gold, but actually MGB and I ended up a Lenox Platinum pattern that is a little different than the one you posted. I liked it because it was very clean, and you can add all sorts of things to it, even a gold charger would be cool. Registering is a blast, have so much fun :)

Leave a Reply

