week 4: homemade granola

A few weeks ago I was traveling for work. Before a meeting, I stopped at the hotel restaurant to grab a quick bite, have a cup of coffee, read the paper, etc. SIDE NOTE: by “read the paper” what I really mean is skim through the style section and play Sudoku, as to appear professional amidst the other business travelers. Anyway, as I’ve mentioned before, when it comes to breakfast I choose savory of sweet every time. But on this particular morning I wanted something light. I opted for the homemade granola. It. was. awesome.

Since then, I have been craving homemade granola! I adapted this from a few different recipes I found online. It contains coconut – which I don’t even really like – but it is a must! Even if you don’t like coconut, be sure to add it. It really takes on the maple flavor of the syrup and adds a light texture. This recipe is so easy that it is definitely becoming a weekly staple at my house.

{ homemade granola }

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup dried apricots, diced
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar. In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.

While granola is in the oven, dice dried apricots. Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add raisins, dried cranberries and apricots and mix until evenly distributed. Store cooled granola in an airtight container.

One thought on “week 4: homemade granola

  1. Pingback: healthy homemade granola | home sweet blog

Leave a Reply

