spring has sprung

Fall is my favorite season, but spring is definitely a close second. I love seeing everything  in bloom. Last week I stopped by the Memphis Botanic Garden and I was completely in awe of the amazing flowers.

{ some hybrid tulip, with literally 100 petals. so pretty }

I even have some things popping up in my own yard…

And the azaleas have teeny, tiny blooms. I’m so ready for them to blossom! Everything fresh and new inspired me to freshen things up at home. I decided to start in the kitchen. I have a chalkboard that hangs over the sink. Which I love. It get’s a new little message for each holiday or season. I guess that is the elementary teacher inside of me dying to get out. Here it is all decorated for Valentine’s Day…

{ please excuse the ugly light and the coffee cup in the sink }

But I was ready for a change. So I pulled an old window out of storage. I bought it years ago at an antique store and I hated keeping it locked away in a closet, but I didn’t have a good place for it. Plus, I don’t have a window over my kitchen sink, which I’ve always wanted. So I thought I’ve give myself a window…even if the only thing I see through it is the wall behind.

But it needed something else. So I grabbed a wreath that used to hang on my front door. Something I whipped up around the holidays – I really wanted something different from the typical “holiday” red and green. I love how this turned out. Really fresh and clean, actually a lot more spring-y than Christmas-y. I just used a grapevine wreath from the craft store and white and green berries from Michael’s.

And voila! A fresh update for the kitchen.

One thought on “spring has sprung

Leave a Reply

