week 4: thai noodle steak salad

For as long as I can remember I have ordered the Thai noodle steak salad from Houston’s. It’s a perfect combination of spicy, sweet and savory. Whenever I try to branch out and try something new, I always end up going back to the “‘ole trusty” salad. Besides being delicious, one of the reasons I love it so much is because it’s not a dish I frequently make at home. It always seemed a little too complicated – not difficult, just complicated. But while at Fresh Market over the weekend BW and I bought skirt steak (one of our faves! BW has a skirt steak taco recipe that I’m dying to share with you. The best tacos I’ve ever eaten! Literally THE BEST) and immediately the Houston’s salad came to my mind. After a little trial and error in the kitchen – I poured my first attempt at the dressing down the drain – I think I’ve come up with something that’s pretty darn close to the original. I tried using ingredients I already had on hand, so I wasn’t buying fish sauce and other Thai ingredients I’d never use again. This dish requires very little cooking – other than the steak and the pasta, everything else is just prep. So simple and a wonderful mix of complex flavors.

{ thai noodle steak salad }

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 4 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 tablespon sriracha chili sauce (add more to reach desired heat)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 pound skirt steak
  • 4 ounces spaghetti noodles (yields about 2 cups cooked pasta)
  • 1 avocado, cut into large chunks
  • 1 mango, cut into large chunks
  • 1/2 grape tomatoes, halved
  • 2 cups cabbage, shredded
  • fresh mint
  • fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup dry roasted peanuts
  • red pepper flakes, for garnish (optional)

Whisk together the sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, garlic, soy sauce, honey, lime juice and chili sauce. Place the skirt steak in a large ziplock bag and cover with half of the marinade (reserve the other half as the dressing for the salad) squeeze out the excess air and allow to marinate for at least 30 minutes.

While the steak is marinating, boil water for pasta and begin chopping of all the other ingredients. When al dente, drain pasta and in a large bowl toss with a tablespoon of the dressing. This will keep it from sticking and the pasta will also soak up the flavors of the dressing while it is still hot.

Heat a cast iron skillet. Remove steak from the marinade and cook on each side for about 4 minutes. Allow to rest for 10 minutes. While steak is resting, toss together all of the ingredients, except for the peanuts and red pepper flakes, with the remaining dressing. Slice the skirt steak. Divide the salad among plates top with steak and a sprinkle of chopped peanuts and red pepper flakes. This salad is best when served at room temperature or slightly cold, so if desired you can place everything in the fridge while the steak is resting. Serve and enjoy!

One thought on “week 4: thai noodle steak salad

  1. Pingback: recipe recap: february « home sweet blog

Leave a Reply

