wingback chair: part 1

I’ve been pretty busy lately, so unfortunately “project: wingback chair” is not moving along quite as quickly as I’d hoped. What I originally thought would be a weekend project has turned into more of a month-long project…I haven’t give up yet, so there’s still hope. Here’s an update of what’s happened with the chair so far…

Last weekend my mom stopped by to give me a hand. We decided to use the muslin I’d purchases as a pattern. I sketched out this little drawing of the chair to use as a guide for our pattern pieces. Then I left my mom to work while I went out in search of more straight pins…we clearly did not have nearly enough. It seriously takes an obscene amount. My mom also managed to slice her hands up pretty badly with the straight pins. The joke of the day was “just don’t bleed on the slipcover” (spoiler alert – she did.) I don’t think she quite realized what she’d signed up for. Sorry, Mom! After a few Band-Aids and some new pins, we were back on track. We began pinning and cutting the muslin. We used a pencil to draw each piece and then I later cut them out leaving about an 1-1 1/2 seam allowance. Here is my adorable mom helping with the chair…

{ mom }

Fast forward one week: I spend Sunday evening pinning the pieces back on the chair to make sure that the patterns we cut would fit. The next step will be to baste (loose stitch with a needle and thread. Don’t feel bad if you didn’t know this term. I didn’t either, I had to Google it. I probably learned this in a fashion course at some point, but obviously it didn’t stick.) the pieces together. I will then flip it inside out and make sure everything looks alright. Then, I will have to rip it all apart and use these pieces as the pattern on my actual fabric. Ugh, I’m already exhausted and feeling a slight tinge of anxiety at that thought, but at the rate things are going I’ve got at least two weeks before I get to that point. I had been toying around with the idea of using drop cloths to make the slip cover. I read about that here. They are super cheap and easy to work with. But since I don’t want to have to go through this again anytime soon, I decided to go with fabric I’ve had in mind all along. Otherwise, I don’t think I would be 100% happy with it. I ordered this oatmeal colored natural linen online for an incredible deal of $5/yard.

{ love this fabric }

I’m excited for the fabric to arrive and I’m even more excited to share the next stage of progress. I’m not yet ready to throw in the towel or admit I’m in over my head, so hopefully another update is on it’s way!

2 thoughts on “wingback chair: part 1

    • Hi Cathy,

      It’s been so long, but I believe I ordered from fabric.com. It is a linen fabric. If I happen so stumble upon the exact site or a link I will be sure to share!

Leave a Reply

