week 3: homemade italian doughnuts

Several years ago I remember watching an episode of Everyday Italian and Giada whipped up some homemade doughnuts using prepared pizza dough. Ever since I’ve wanted to make them. Now that I have a prepared pizza dough I love (I mentioned it here) I decided it was finally time. Doughnuts are a lot like pizza…even when they’re bad, they’re good. That said, these might not have been best doughnuts I’ve ever had. I would have liked for the dough to be little bit lighter.  BUT I’ve never met a doughnut I didn’t like. Using prepared pizza dough made them incredibly easy. A accompaniment coffee and a not a bad way to spend a Sunday morning.

{ homemade italian doughnuts }

  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • 1 pound prepared pizza dough
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 3 ounces milk chocolate

Pour equal vegetable oil into a large frying pan to reach a depth of 2 inches. Heat the oil over medium heat until a deep-fry thermometer registers 375 degrees. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface to 1/2 inch thickness. Using a floured 2-inch cookie cutter or biscuit cutter, cut out doughnut rounds. Using a floured 1-inch cookie cutter, cut out a hole in the center of each doughnut (the smallest cookie cutter I had was a little too large, so I used the cap to a plastic water bottle and it worked perfectly.) Gather the dough scraps and re-roll to cut out more doughnuts.

Whisk the sugar and cinnamon in a medium bowl to blend. Set the cinnamon-sugar aside. When the oil is hot, working in batches, fry the doughnuts until they puff but are still pale, about 45 seconds per side. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the doughnuts to paper towels to drain. Cool slightly. While the doughnuts are still warm, add to the bowl with cinnamon-sugar and generously coat each with the cinnamon-sugar. Fry the doughnut holes separately and place them in a brown paper sack with the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Shake well to coat in sugary, cinnamon-y deliciousness! NOTE: I was so busy popping these into my mouth, the barely made it to the table.

For chocolate dipped doughnuts, cool the fried doughnuts to room temperature. Stir the chocolate and whipping cream in a small saucepan over medium-low heat until the chocolate melts. Set aside until the chocolate sauce comes to room temperature. Dip 1 side of each doughnut into the chocolate mixture. Pour yourself a cup of coffee and enjoy!

{ place dough on a floured surface }

{ roll out dough to 1/2 inch thick }

{ cut doughnuts and place in pot to fry }

{ YUM }

*I am a chocolate lover…it’s true. But I have to say, I think the cinnamon-sugar doughnuts really stole the show. They were delish!

2 thoughts on “week 3: homemade italian doughnuts

  1. Pingback: recipe recap: february « home sweet blog

  2. Pingback: Squirrelly Minds » The Friday Five | Sweetest Day

Leave a Reply

