recipe recap: january

After the first month of trying new recipes, here is my first recipe recap. I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to document/keep up with it all, so here’s what I’ve come up with.

week 1: world’s best lasagna

This lasagna was good. Really good. I mean, this lasagna was GREAT! But I am still not finished searching for the PERFECT lasagna recipe. This one will remain at the top. It is quick, easy and delicious. But, (and BW will prob make fun of me for saying this….) I think I can do better. The search is on for another lasagna recipe. I’ll keep you posted on what I find. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

week 2: the word’s best cinnamon rolls

This was my second “world’s best” recipe of the month. And it really was! This past weekend while BW’s sister and brother-in-law were in town, I pulled some of the frozen cinnamon rolls out of the freezer and whipped up a quick cream cheese frosting (hopefully I will post a recipe for that soon!) and they were just as delicious as they were the first time around. This one is definitely making it into the archives.

week 3: homemade hummus

Loved this easy hummus. I will definitely make it again. Would love to play around with the flavors – add un-roasted garlic, roasted red peppers, other veggies and spices. If I come up with a balance of flavors I love, I will share them here.

week 4: flaky mushroom and gruyere tart

As I mentioned in the post, I would love to give this one another shot and make a few changes. And as with the others, if I find the perfect mix of flavors I will be sure to share them with you here.

Overall, I would say a pretty successful month. After reading back over the recap it might sound like I wasn’t 100% in love with all of the recipes (and I wasn’t) but don’t let that discourage you from making any of them! They are all wonderful, but I rarely cook something without wondering what I can do to make it better. I promise to keep you updated with any changes I make. Hopefully February will hold just as many tasty dishes!

Leave a Reply

