week 4: flaky mushroom and gruyere tarts

I probably receive about 25 daily emails. I get all the sample sales (Gilt, Hautelook, Rue La La… those get me in trouble!), DailyCandy, Refinery29, and just about half of them center around food. Many of which are “recipe of the day” emails. I love getting recipes of the day because I often get into a rut – I tend to make the same recipes over and over. (I’m also the kind of person that orders the same menu item every time I visit a restaurant. I like knowing what I’m going to get and hey, if it ‘ain’t broke, don’t fix it.) Not to mention, it’s a huge help with my resolution. So, getting new recipe ideas everyday helps me break out of my rut. This little recipe comes from Real Simple. And it was a perfect accompaniment to one of my other menu staples (tomato bisque!) This recipe is super easy, so it would be great to whip up when you don’t have much time. Also, cutting the tarts into fourths would make great party hors d’oeuvres. Be sure to see my note at the end!

{ flaky mushroom and gruyere tarts }

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 10 ounces assorted mushrooms, I used button and baby bella
  • 1 shallot, sliced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup gruyere, grated*

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Unfold the pastry and cut it into 4 squares. Place the squares on a parchment-lined baking sheet and, using a fork, prick the dough all over. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and shallot and season with salt and pepper. Cook until the mushrooms are browned and tender, about 4 to 5 minutes. Add the wine and cook until nearly evaporated, about 1 minute more. Sprinkle the pastry squares with half the cheese. Top with the mushroom mixture and remaining cheese. Bake until the pastry is golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

*you could also use a sharp white cheddar.

{ sliced mushrooms and shallot }

{ use fork to poke hole in puff pastry }

{ evenly divide the gruyere and mushrooms }

{ after 20 minutes in the oven, it’s ready to eat }

**This recipe was delicious. I definitely plan on making it again. BUT I rarely make something without thinking about how and what I can do to make it better. That said, next time I make this I think I might make a few changes. With the pastry, the nutty, buttery gruyere and the mushrooms…it was a little rich. It needs something a little more acidic to cut the richness of the cheese. I think I am going to add a splash of white wine vinegar to the mushrooms when I sautee them with the shallot and white wine. I think that should create the perfect balance. When I do give the tarts a second shot, I will be sure to keep you posted about the results.

Leave a Reply

