week 1: world’s best lasagna

I decided to kick off week one of 2011 Recipe Challenge (lame, I know. But that’s what I’m calling it) with this yummy recipe from Pioneer Woman. I pretty much love everything she makes, so if she say’s it’s the best, it probably is the best. And although it looks like there are a lot of steps involved, this recipe could not be any easier. Also, there are some ingredients on this list (i.e. cottage cheese, breakfast sausage) that would send Mario Batali into an Italian fit of rage. BUT trust me, the breakfast sausage adds just the right amount of spice and with the cottage cheese you won’t even miss ricotta. But still, don’t tell any true Italians my secret…

{ world’s best lasagna }

  • 1 ½ pounds ground beef
  • 1 pound hot breakfast sausage
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cans (14.5 ounce) whole tomatoes
  • 2 cans (6 ounce) tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 2 tablespoons dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups lowfat cottage cheese
  • 2 whole beaten eggs
  • ½ cups grated (not shredded) parmesan cheese*
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound mozzarella cheese
  • 1 package (10 ounce) lasagna noodles
  • (add 1/2 Teaspoon Salt And 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil To Pasta Water)

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, combine ground beef, sausage, and garlic. Cook over medium-high heat until browned. Drain half the fat. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, 2 tablespoons parsley, basil and salt. After adding the tomatoes, the sauce mixture should simmer for 45 minutes while you are working on the other steps.

In a medium bowl, mix cottage cheese, beaten eggs, grated Parmesan, 2 more tablespoons parsley, and 1 more teaspoon salt. Stir together well. Set aside. Cook lasagna until “al dente” (not overly cooked). To assemble, arrange 4 cooked lasagna noodles in the bottom of a baking pan, overlapping if necessary. Spoon half the cottage cheese mixture over the noodles. Spread evenly. Cover cottage cheese with a layer of mozzarella cheese. Spoon a little less than half the meat mixture over the top. Repeat, ending with meat mixture. Sprinkle top generously with extra Parmesan. Either freeze, refrigerate for up to two days, or bake immediately in a 350 degree oven for 20 to 30 minutes, or until top is hot and bubbly.

*the original recipe called for CANNED, as in Kraft in the green shaker, parmesan cheese. After standing in the dairy aisle staring at the can ‘o cheese with disgust for what seemed like an hour, I could not bring myself to do it.  Instead I grated fresh parmigiano reggiano and it was delish.

**I cut this recipe in half and still baked it at 350 degrees for about 25 – it came out perfect!

{ garlic for meat sauce }

{ parsley, basil and salt for meat sauce }

{ let the meat sauce simmer for 45 minutes }

{ lasagna noodles ready to boil }

{ egg for cottage cheese mixture }

{ start with a layer of cooked lasagna noodles }

{ cover noodles with layer of cottage cheese mixture }

{ sprinkle with half of mozzarella cheese }

{ add a layer of the meat mixture }

{ top with grated parmesan }

{ pop it in the oven and set your kitchen timer }

3 thoughts on “week 1: world’s best lasagna

  1. Pingback: recipe recap: january « home sweet blog

  2. Elizabeth,
    Hi. I thought I would introduce myself because I found myself LOVING your taste. I have pinned a number of your pictures and I hope that you don’t mind. (I don’t want to offend you). I figure that it will create traffic for your blog which is always a good thing. My name is Amber Burrahm. I am a brand new blogger. I am about to launch my website in the next month or so and I hope that we can maybe become friends. Maybe I could have you do a guest post someday in the future if you are interested…no pressure. I always love to find someone with similar tastes and styles. I started following you on Pinterest. Thanks so much, I hope you have a wonderful day,
    amber

Leave a Reply

