series 7 shrimp & grits

{ delish shrimp & grits }

On Friday BW passed his series 7 exam and I am so proud of him! The series 7 is a financial certification exam. One of the big stepping stones before he can sell bonds. It is a big test with lots of studying and prep, so in honor of passing the exam I prepared a congratulatory dinner. I was able to keep it a secret all day (I kept him out of the kitchen and even kept all the ingredients covered with a kitchen towel! He eventually guessed it, even though I asked him to stop guessing… Instead of scouring the internet for the perfect recipe, I went to my mom. My mom is an ah-mazing cook (which usually means when I ask her for a recipe she can tell me what she puts in, but no clue about measurements. Just add “’til it tastes good.”) Anyway, the shrimp and grits recipe she passed along was spot on! So, now I’m sharing it with you!

{ series 7 shrimp & grits }

  • 4 slices of bacon
  • 1/4 cup celery, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup green onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/8 teaspoons thyme (or one spring fresh thyme)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cups fish/shrimp stock or bottled clam juice*
  • 1/2 cup white wine (my mom usually omits this, but I had it on hand)
  • 4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2-4 tablespoons rotel tomatoes
  • 1 pound shrimp (I also did a few scallops)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning

In a large skillet, over medium-high heat, cook the bacon until crisp. Remove and drain on a paper towel. In the bacon drippings saute onions, celery, bell peppers and garlic. Cook 4-5 minutes. Add thyme and bay leaves, cook for another minute.

Increase the heat to high and add white wine. Cook until it evaporates.

Lower the heat to medium, add flour to the pan stirring to prevent lumps. Cook flour for a few minutes to brown. Add the stock, tomato paste and rotel tomatoes and whisk quickly to avoid lumps. Add cream and season with salt and pepper to taste (I also add a few shakes of hot sauce.) Leave at a simmer while you cook the shrimp.

In a cast iron skillet, melt the butter. Sprinkle shrimp and scallops with Cajun seasoning. Saute the shrimp and scallops in the melted butter, until half cooked. Add to sauce. Spoon over creamy grits and garnish with crumbled bacon.

*I only had 1 cup of clam juice, so I added chicken broth for the remaining 1 cup of liquid.

One thought on “series 7 shrimp & grits

Leave a Reply

